Journalist of the Year

Enter the Georgia Stilwell Dunn

Ohio Journalist of the Year
scholarship competition now

This is a chance for your students to showcase their work and get recognized for their dedication to journalism. Not sure how to instruct your students on the JOY portfolio submissions? Check out the online tutorials to help you and your students prep for success.

The Ohio winner will be announced at the state convention awards banquet on April 1 and will be entered into the Journalism Education Association’s national Journalist of the Year competition. For more information on how to enter, visit the JEA website.

Portfolios are judged at the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention, and winners are announced at the convention’s concluding awards ceremony. Scholarship funds — $3,000 for the top winner, and $850 each for runners-up (up to six runners-up awards are usually given) — are released to the student after the winners are announced. More information available at

Deadline to enter is March 1, 2020

Email submissions to…
Maggie Cogar, CJE
JEA State Director, Ohio

2018 — Jacob Fulton, Olentangy Orange High School (Kari Phillips and Brian Nicola, advisers)
2017 — Emma Stiefel, Lakota East High School (Dean Hume, adviser)

Leave a Reply