# Bylaws of the Ohio Scholastic Media Association

### Article I: Name

The name of this association is the Ohio Scholastic Media Association.

#### **Article II: Purpose**

The association is a coalition of journalism programs and media associations whose purpose is to support scholastic media. It will offer press days, workshops, conferences, contests, etc. It will work for the overall betterment of high school journalism teaching and media in Ohio.

### **Article III: Membership**

#### Section 1: Members

OSMA members are secondary schools and those that include comparable age groups operating in Ohio and contiguous states.

#### Section 2: Affiliates

Journalism programs, such as, but not limited to, accredited state university schools and departments, and media associations, such as, but not limited to, scholastic press associations, may be affiliates of the association. New affiliates must be approved by a majority vote of the Board.

#### **Section 3: Dues**

The Board of Directors, by a majority vote, shall have the authority to set annual dues.

### **Article IV: Governance**

### **Section 1: Geographical Areas**

OSMA membership will be divided into five areas of the state, roughly representing the four corners (northeast, northwest, southeast and southwest) and the center (Greater Columbus and surrounding). Member schools outside Ohio will align with the nearest geographical area.

### Section 2: Composition of the Board

The Board will consist of up to eight (8) representatives from each of the five designated areas of the state, each elected by his or her own area. Two (2) additional members at large will be elected at the state meeting, for a total of 42. The Journalism Education Association state director will also be a member of the Board.

### Section 3: Terms of Office

Board members will serve three-year terms with ending dates staggered so one third of the Board finishes its term each year. Board members are eligible to reapply when their three-year terms are over.

#### Section 3: Executive Committee

An executive committee will be selected from this larger Board that reflects area representation with no more than three (3) members from each of the five areas. The executive committee will select a president, vice president, secretary and treasurer from its ranks and will set the mission, implement policies, evaluate the executive director and oversee fiscal management.

### **Section 4: Responsibilities**

All Board members should be willing to judge, to speak at workshops or conferences and to be a member of a standing or special committee, In addition, Board members must attend one of three meetings a year: either the annual meeting, an area meeting or committee meeting.

# Section 3: Executive Director

The Executive Director will be employed by the Board-approved university that houses OSMA and must be approved by the OSMA Board. The Executive Director will be responsible for presenting an annual report, including a financial statement, to the Board at the annual meeting and carrying out the policies and activities of the association.

# **Article V: Meetings**

# Section 1: Annual Meeting

The annual meeting of the Board will be held in conjunction with the state conference.

### Section 2: Special Meetings

Special meetings may be called by the Executive Director or the President, if one has been elected, for the transaction of only such business as stated in the call for the meeting.

### Section 3: Quorum

A quorum shall consist of those attending a duly announced meeting.

# Section 4: Rules of Order

The Board will follow modified parliamentary procedure, unless specific rule changes are approved by a majority of Board members in attendance.

### Article VI: Amendments to the Bylaws

These bylaws may be amended by a two-thirds vote of the Board. Notice of the proposed change must have been mailed or transmitted electronically to Board members at least ten (10) days prior to such meeting, unless the vote by the Board is unanimous to approve the change.

Draft 4/15/06, additional changes 4/17/06 (G. Dunn) and 5/7/06 (W. Dunn). Approved August 2006.